Purchasing a new vehicle is a process that includes a lot of different things, besides just finding the vehicle you want. As you know, there is a lot of local legislation you would need to take into consideration before you can conclude a deal. The same goes for purchasing a new vehicle and used vehicles.
In case you don’t comply with the local legislation, you can face numerous problems. Thankfully, avoiding these problems is indeed possible. One of these legislations is to register your vehicle and get the license plates. Without it, the number of penalties can start accumulating rather quickly. Of course, the legislation differs from state to state, and you need to understand the ones active where you live.
As you probably know, obtaining the license plates is not possible immediately after you get the vehicle. Some period needs to pass when that happens. One of the most frequently asked questions out there is “is there a grace period for expired tags in Florida”?
Now, let’s address this question and sink deeper into the details.
Without Licenses in Florida
In the last couple of years, we can see that the number of unlicensed drivers has become a massive problem in this state. As a result, the local police have a lot of work on their hands. We are talking about a serious criminal offense that results in a variety of severe consequences, which nobody wants to experience.
One of the consequences of this happening is that the drivers can face consequences like getting a ticket. Tickets are the smallest issue you can have, but we can all agree that people do not enjoy getting these. However, people don’t understand that, according to the word of the law, they are technically arrested and released on the spot.
It can also happen that you’re invited to appear in front of the court and if the person doesn’t appear can face a lot of problems. Among the consequences, you can expect up to two months in jail, and up to $500 in fines. When you think about it, you will certainly agree that this is a hefty price.
Driving Without Them
Since it is not realistic to expect that your vehicle will have the license plates when they are bought, the state regulation offers the drivers the possibility to drive without them for 30 days. During that period, the drivers can have a document that confirms they’ve just purchased the vehicle, and they will not have any problems with the law.
The problem is when people are driving under license plates that are expired. In that case, the state of Florida says the drivers should be fined a fee. Naturally, this fee depends solely on the local legislation in different counties. In some situations, this fee may be just one of those you will experience in that case, and they can accumulate pretty fast.
How Frequent the Registration Should Be?
In most places in the world, you will see that registration is done once a year. However, there are some places where drivers have the opportunity to renew it for two years. In Florida, the registration expires on the birthday of the owner. Usually, it is required to renew them on the first day of that month.
Naturally, many different scenarios can happen in this case. For instance, when parents have two children, each of them has a vehicle, but they are all registered with their parents. If they have renewed their registrations during October, then the renewal should be done in October next year.
If they can renew them for the next two years, then this will prolong for one year. The expiring date is found on the yellow sticker on the vehicle’s tabs. Therefore, whenever you forget about this date, then you can always check up on the date, and see when’s the time for re-registration.
As we all know, Florida is one of the top touristic destinations in the United States, and many people visit it every year. Therefore, it is quite common to see out-of-state licenses. Those who are just passing will not have any problems with the local legislation. However, if you have moved to Florida, it’s just like when you don’t have licenses at all.
In that case, you would be able to drive for a month before you obtain the local ones. At the same time, those who have just moved to Florida are obligated to register their cars within the first 10 days after they move into the state. Thankfully, we are not talking about a complex procedure, and it can be resolved in just a day.
When it comes to the requirements for this process, we are talking about providing the identification documents. Also, you should think about providing proof of registration and the out-of-state title. Besides these, make sure that you have proof of insurance from a company licensed in the state of Florida.
Possible Defenses in this Case
Without any doubt, many people who are not aware of the local law will need to appear in front of the court. When you appear in front of the court, it is possible to use your lack of knowledge about the legislation to defend yourself from the accusation.
Also, it is a practice for judges to drop their charges or reduce the penalties significantly in cases when defendants are not aware of the fact that they broke the law. Of course, you will need to hire an experienced attorney who knows how to bridge these gaps.
One of the biggest mistakes people make is that they do not renew their registration after they receive a ticket. They should do it immediately after that happens. That way, they will ensure it will not repeat in the future.
As you can see, it is possible to drive a vehicle without having the license plate on your vehicle. However, this is not a possibility for too long. Here, we’ve provided you with a detailed explanation of how to address this issue in Florida.